T-SITE Scholars

 Application Deadline for Fall 2014 is February 14, 2014!


UMBC Admissions information for transfer students


2012 T-SITE Scholars

The Transfer Scholars in Information Technology and Engineering  (T-SITE) program began in March of 2012.  Funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF), this need-based scholarship supports new transfers students with scholarships of up to $6,700 per year based on financial eligibility. Transfer Scholars also receive academic support through a variety of CWIT programs and services. Ten new T-SITE Scholars will be selected for Fall 2012, 2013, and 2014 (for a total of 30 transfer Scholars). See CSEE Department Website Announcement

The T-SITE application deadline for new transfer students entering UMBC in the fall 2014 is February 14th, 2014. Note that this is well before the university’s overall application deadlines for transfer students. We do not accept applicants for the spring semester.

Interviews for selected applicants will take place in April at UMBC.  All T-SITE Scholarship recipients must attend orientation in early June and the new Scholar Retreat  during the summer 2014  at UMBC. Specific dates for interviews, orientation,  and the retreat will be posted in the near future.

Steps to Apply by the February 14, 2014 Deadline:

1.  Complete an admissions application to UMBC by February 14, 2014,  including submission of your official transcripts.

2.  Complete the FAFSA by February 14, 2014 and include UMBC on the form (UMBC ID # 002105).

3.  Complete the T-SITE Scholar application by February 14, 2014 which is available on line or on in PDF form.

                 Online T-SITE Application
                 T-SITE_Application_2014 (PDF)

Who is eligible?

  • New transfer students from Maryland community colleges with a 3.0 GPA, entering UMBC in Fall 2014
  • Majoring in computer science, computer engineering, information systems, chemical or mechanical engineering
  • a US Citizen or Permanent Resident
  • Must have financial need as determined by FAFSA
  • Must be full-time student at UMBC

Scholarship Details:

  • Multi-year scholarships will be awarded  in Fall 2012, 2013, and 2014
  • Scholarships of up to $6,700 per year based on UMBC Financial Aid Office review
  • Transfer Scholars must maintain a 3.0 GPA at UMBC.
  • Required participation in CWIT community events focused on academic, professional, and leadership development.
  • Women and underrepresented minorities strongly encouraged to apply.

T-SITE Scholar Experience:  

T-SITE Scholars are part of the larger CWIT community of Scholars and Affiliates.  Academic success and professional development are achieved through a number of program elements. Members of the CWIT community are encouraged to live on the CWIT Living Learning Community in the residence halls.

All T-SITE Scholars:

  • Are assigned a faculty and peer mentor in their major;
  • Explore career options, develop lifelong career management skills, and identify internships, and post-graduation jobs through professional development events and an assigned Industry mentor;
  • Participate in a seminar specifically designed for transfer students;
  • Meet regularly with a CWIT professional advisor to set goals and track individual progress;
  • Develop leadership skills through involvement in student organizations and K-12 outreach.